The Confucius Institute is a tripartite joint venture between UNSW, China’s elite Shanghai Jiao Tong University (SJTU) and the Chinese National Office for Teaching Chinese as a Foreign Language (Hanban)/Confucius Institute Headquarters, which is affiliated with the Chinese Ministry of Education. 

Shanghai Jiao Tong University 

Shanghai Jiao Tong University, formerly known as Nan Yang Public University, was founded in 1896.

As one of the oldest and most important universities in China, SJTU is recognised and administered by the Ministry of Education and the Shanghai Municipal Government.

SJTU plays a leading role in China in the area of higher education sector reforms, ensuring good governance and growth for its future.

SJTU has developed a grand blueprint for its future development and is determined to make continued efforts to build itself into a first class world university.

UNSW and SJTU have been partner institutions since the Confucius Institute was opened in July 2009, and the partnership serves the purpose of allowing greater academic, cultural, business and professional interaction between the two institutions. 


Hanban/Confucius Institute Headquarters

Hanban/Confucius Institute Headquarters, as a public institution affiliated with the Chinese Ministry of Education, is committed to providing Chinese language and cultural teaching resources and services worldwide, it goes all out in meeting the demands of foreign Chinese learners and contributing to the development of multiculturalism and the building of a harmonious world. 

As China’s economy and exchanges with the world have seen rapid growth, there has also been a sharp increase in the world’s demands for Chinese learning. Benefiting from the UK, France, Germany and Spain’s experience in promoting their national languages, China began its own exploration through establishing non-profit public institutions which aim to promote Chinese language and culture in foreign countries in 2004: these were given the name the Confucius Institute.